In 1934, Girls Inc. of Fort Smith was established to meet the needs to area girls. The Belle Grove Center was opened and served as a place to provide clothing, health needs, and recreation for the “under privileged” girls. In 1970, Nancy Orr Center was built on Old Greenwood Road. Until 2007, both centers provided to the Fort Smith community. Now the Nancy Orr Center serves as the center of operation. After 80 years of providing to the Fort Smith community, Girls Inc. looks forward to continuing their efforts to make every girl strong, smart, and bold.

Who We Are

Girls Inc. is much more than a place for girls to come see their friends.  The pro-girl, girl-only environment is physically, socially and emotionally safe which confirms that girls can succeed and deserve to be taken seriously.  Staff and volunteers are chosen to provide trusting, mentoring relationships, who are grounded in the belief of girls’ rights and abilities.

What We Do

Programming is intentionally scheduled to focus on girls’ needs and provide exposure to a wide variety of experiences.  Girls Inc. girls participate in interactive activities as part of a national research-based curricula that confront the serious needs of girls while building knowledge, skills and attitude to enable girls to be competent, confident individuals. Our organization believes in sustained exposure to programming to increase positive outcomes and reduce the potential for negative outcomes….

Radiating the mission of inspiring ALL girls to be strong, smart and bold.










National Website Link:


Amanda Daniels; Executive Director

Joyce Slack; Marketing Director & Program Specialist

Patti Cross; Program & Camp Director

Amy Burrows; Office Manager

Marie Richison; Sports Coordinator

Board of Directors


  • Sherry Sims; President
  • Scott Monroe; Vice President
  • Karen Wuthrich; Treasurer
  • Erin Craig; Secretary
  • Greg Carman
  • Paula Glidewell
  • Stephen Taylor
  • Greta Barr (Michael)
  • Landy Westphal
  • Aubrey Barr
  • Jack Morgan
  • Ava Knott
  • Angela Holcomb
  • Ted Holme
  • Madeline Martinez-Santiago
  • Cody Pugh
  • Anne Dunn
  • Dr. Carolyn Mosley
  • Candace Jackson
  • Zena Featherston
  • Tracey Geren
  • Rett Howard
  • Kristen Ahlert
  • Trish Flanagan

Honorary Members

  • Patrick Jacobs
  • Dana Craig
  • David Humphrey
  • Nancy Smith-Robinson
  • Jane Wilson
  • Georgianna Yerton


  • Kay Voss
  • Curtis Sawyer
  • Rick Spearman